Metal Rods Attract Unusual Nighttime Visitors

So that last post garnered little attention.  Not that surprising considering it’s technical nature and dearth of birds!

As the semester wraps up for me, things are rather busy with two presentations on Monday, a final to proctor and all the data to pull together before Friday.  (This is the last week for me anyway since I take off on Sunday for a two-week bird banding workshop).

Campus in bloom. Rutgers University - Newark. Photo taken on April 26, 2015.

Campus in bloom. Rutgers University – Newark. Photo taken on April 26, 2015.

I do get a little bit of green and birds as I move between campuses.  I heard a Warbling Vireo earlier this weekend!

Campus in bloom. Rutgers University - Newark. Photo taken on April 26, 2015.

Campus in bloom. Rutgers University – Newark. Photo taken on April 26, 2015.

However, as I couldn’t go to the birds, the birds came to me.

On Friday, I learned through the grapevine that an Eastern Whip-poor-will appeared on campus.  On my way home, I stopped to look for it.

I did find it, exactly where it had been all day.  I’m not sure what it thought about the disconcerting concert taking place 150 feet away.  It flushed as soon as it realized I had spotted it and I couldn’t relocate it. So no pictures.

When I arrived Saturday morning, I poked around looking for it, but it seemed to have vanished/moved on/concealed itself really well.

Then last night leaving campus (yes on a Saturday), we stumbled across it again.

Eastern Whip-poor-will.  Rutgers University - Newark. Photo taken on May 2, 2015.

Eastern Whip-poor-will. Rutgers University – Newark. Photo taken on May 2, 2015.

This time I had an opportunity to go back to my car, get my camera (and monopod!) and get a few shots as it hunted from one of the poles holding up our mist nets.  I had a chance to watch it take off and return a few times.

Eastern Whip-poor-will from another angle. Rutgers University - Newark. Photo taken on May 2, 2015.

Eastern Whip-poor-will from another angle. Rutgers University – Newark. Photo taken on May 2, 2015.

Not quite as cool as last year’s Chuck-will’s-widow (check out May 6 and 7 entries 2014) which also appeared briefly in May and perched on metal poles.

One thought on “Metal Rods Attract Unusual Nighttime Visitors

Leave a Reply

