Returning to my Roots

My first serious birding endeavor took place in Arizona a decade ago.  I was part of a research team based out of University of Arizona working with the Band-tailed Pigeon. Several years later, I returned briefly to the state to visit family and see more of its natural wonder, so as I sit with my bags packed ready to return, I figured I’d pull a few photos out of the archives.

Margs Draw, Sedona, AZ. Photo taken April 17, 2010.

Margs Draw, Sedona, AZ. Photo taken April 17, 2010.

I’m headed out to the Tucson region tomorrow for a family wedding.  Afterwards I’m staying for a few extra days to get some birding in.  Have done some research, but haven’t entirely made up my mind where I’m going yet other than in the Tucson region since that’s where I’ll be.

Margs Draw, Sedona, AZ. Photo taken April 17, 2010.

Anna’s Hummingbird mid-flight. Margs Draw, Sedona, AZ. Photo taken April 17, 2010.

Unfortunately in my previous visits to the state, I didn’t keep records for myself so all I have are the fragments of memories 10 years old.  That and a few really poor quality photos.

Margs Draw, Sedona, AZ. Photo taken April 17, 2010.

Ubiquitous vultures enjoying the late day thermals as I depart Sedona. Margs Draw, Sedona, AZ. Photo taken April 17, 2010.

However, that’s all about to change.  When I return I will at least have better lists, if not better quality photos.

Margs Draw, Sedona, AZ. Photo taken April 17, 2010.

I don’t recall the context of this particular photo, but I like it nonetheless. Margs Draw, Sedona, AZ. Photo taken April 17, 2010.

5 thoughts on “Returning to my Roots

  1. Pingback: This Week in Birding 72 by Drew Weber | Nemesis Bird

  2. Pingback: Birding News #72 | Prairie Birder

Leave a Reply

