Until the Last Minute

After the wonderful day spent birding Great Swamp, we parted ways in the early afternoon.  Two of us went to a late lunch/early dinner and then went homeward….

Turns out neither of us went home.  She went to Saddle River County Park and while I was sitting, stuck in traffic next to Garrett Mountain, figured I’d swing by and try my luck at better Least Bittern views.

The birding was quiet. Strike that, looking at my ebird list, I had 32 species which isn’t so bad considering conditions!  Best, yet I finally found the Hooded Warbler of Garrett Mountain.  I had heard about this fellow for almost a week now and finally got a glimpse through the foliage.

I think the Hooded Warbler should hang out with the Common Yellowthroat.  They both strive to hide their identities.

First views ever of a Hooded Warbler. Garrett Mountain, NJ. Photo taken on May 17, 2014.

First views ever of a Hooded Warbler. Garrett Mountain, NJ. Photo taken on May 17, 2014.

4 thoughts on “Until the Last Minute

Leave a Reply

