Life in Motion

As I was editing photos last night, I came across the image below.  I was eager to see how it turned out.  As an unedited image, it was pretty disappointing.  I was shooting in difficult conditions: cloudy with lots of diffuse light, in the canopy of a forest with birds swiftly flying through shadows.   Hopefully I’ve salvaged something worthwhile from it:

Galapagos flycatchers. Floreana, Galapagos, Ecuador. Taken February 7, 2014.

Galapagos flycatchers chase each other through the understory.
Floreana, Galapagos, Ecuador. Taken January 7, 2014.

(I think I have a thing for translucent primaries.)

We were hiking up Floreanna,  ostensibly looking for tortoises.  The obvious translation in my book was birding.  It was lovely; it was surreal; it was very different from anything we had seen on San Cristobal (even when we visited El Junco).  The air was alive with birds: chirping, calling, singing, perching, gliding, flying.  The air practically glimmered, shimmered, and dripped birds. But ridiculously hard to photograph. A commotion caught my eye, and I became distracted from my efforts of photocapturing Medium Tree Finches by the raucous behind me.  Spinning about, I witnessed two Galapagos Flycatchers dipping and darting in and out of the trees. Mating season had begun.

2 thoughts on “Life in Motion

Leave a Reply

