Here a Kestrel

Here a kestrel, there a kestrel, everywhere a kestrel.  Or, if that were the case, I’d need a new thesis topic!  It’s thesis writing week for me.  So there don’t anticipate many posts, unless they’re reflections.   What I can share is that I’ve gotten about 2800 words down so far and I spent most of this afternoon making a table.  (I’m very excited about this.)  One of my favorite quotes is by Oscar Wilde.  I think I spent most of a year in high school English pondering the quote.  He says, “I have spent most of the day putting in a comma and the rest of the day taking it out.”  The table feels like my comma. ( Hopefully I won’t have to take it out!) I think if I spent less time thinking about the quote and more time writing, I’d be further along, but I’m pleased with my progress so far.

However, it’s been awhile since I’ve posted a real photo. So I’ve dug out an appropriate photo from the archives.  Enjoy!

Male American Kestrel prepares for take off!

Male American Kestrel prepares for take off!

We’ve just finished banding and tagging this adult male kestrel and he’s about to be released.   He looks big and fierce, doesn’t he?  Mind you he’s being held by a six-year old.   Quite a professional six-year-old, too!  She comes out in the field with us as her mother is runs the Sussex team and she can do pretty much everything competently at this point except carry the ladder and drive the vehicle.

4 thoughts on “Here a Kestrel

Leave a Reply

