Finishing Up February

As I walked back to my car on Tuesday night following class I was very excited to hear vocalizations coming from the construction area/playing fields.  Considering the time and the season, I was hopeful it was the American Woodcock.  When I had a chance, I verified on ebird that the American Woodcock had returned to the area. I haven’t heard woodcocks since I was an undergraduate crossing Skelley Field.   And that’s been years!   I listened to the vocalizations on Cornell’s All About Birds site.  Vocalizations aren’t my thing – I have permanent audio amnesia, so songs and calls are challenging.  Cornell’s vocalization file seemed promising and so I was filled with hope.

Alas, it was not to be.  Arriving on campus Wednesday morning, I learned the true identity of the noisy, new arrival.  Approaching the soccer fields I found a standoff between the disinterested soccer team beginning practice and the indignant Killdeer protecting the goal.

So February wrapped up with a last minute addition to the month list of Killdeer for a total of 5o species, and 34 checklists and a new lifebird, the Monk Parakeet.  Bird sighting I was most excited about:  American Robin.  Seems silly, but they portend spring for me, so it was super exciting to see.  Most vindicated sighting of the month: Brown Creeper.  I knew they had to be around the house, it was only a matter of finding it and I did.

Now, back to studying for Tuesday’s exam!

Spring break is approaching!  So hopefully I will get a chance to get out and bird more as the migrants begin arriving.

4 thoughts on “Finishing Up February

  1. Killdeer are such weird, stubborn little birds. There are four of them nesting in the parking lot at my school, and sure enough they get all upset and squawk about everyday when people come and park. This is the second year they’re nested in the rocky planters here too. Why do they make life so anxious for themselves?

    Nice find with a Monk Parakeet! It is justly so that a Robin would bring that extra satisfaction. Of course, down in central and southern AZ, that’s just an all round’ excellent find : )

    • There isn’t enough gravelly terrain in the world? There’s a killdeer that has nested in the driveway of a farm I visit on my kestrel box rounds. The farmers recognized they lost that battle and just flag the nest so no one runs it over.

      The Monk Parakeet is a slightly more welcome version of the Rock Pigeon in this area. However, I applaud their fortitude and hardiness.

  2. Killdeer do nest in the darndest places, there are some that nest in a parking lot at one of the locations I go to photograph, every year! They have to put up traffic cones around the nest sites to protect the eggs.

    The Monk Parakeet is a great find!

Leave a Reply

