The Great Backyard Bird Count Recap

I had a bit of a chance to contribute to the #gbbc from four different yards as I went about my weekend.   I’ll just summarize my list here:

Date 2-15 2-17 2-18
#spp 18 11 10
#individuals 89 44 24
#lists 3 2 2
species list
mallard
wild turkey
mourning dove
belted kingfisher
red-bellied woodpecker
downy woodpecker
blue jay
black-capped chickadee
tufted titmouse
white-breasted nuthatch
european starling
song sparrow
dark-eyed junco
northern cardinal
red-winged blackbird
american goldfinch
house sparrow
turkey vulture
rock pigeon
red-bellied woodpecker
blue jay
black-capped chickadee
tufted titmouse
white-breasted nuthatch
european starling
dark-eyed junco
northern cardinal
house sparrow
mallard
cooper’s hawk
mourning dove
black-capped chickadee
tufted titmouse
white-breasted nuthatch
dark-eyed junco
northern cardinal
american goldfinch
house sparrow
 

Total species: 21

I did spot Ring-billed Gulls around the Driscoll Bridge and along the rest-stops further south as well as Turkey Vultures, but I didn’t include those on Saturday.  However, on Saturday, as part of a baby shower I did draw a picture of a wren using fabric markers:

wren

Wren with fabric markers contrasted with a real-life wren.

The baby to be will be named Wren, so a wren drawing seemed fitting.

After seeing the birds from work featured on Fox and Friends, my folks decided to participate.  Their contribute was to tell me the list verbally when I stopped by on Monday afternoon.   My folks have gotten so much pleasure from their new bird feeder!

2 thoughts on “The Great Backyard Bird Count Recap

  1. Looks like consistency is key this time of year and in yard areas. It was bleak stuff birding in Iowa recently, and I’m pretty sure we saw the same individual bird throughout the weekend within the same few miles we birded over and over (hoping to find Crossbills but no luck).

    I’m enjoying reading up on your posts Kathleen. Thanks for sharing.

    • Truth. It’s a bit bleak, but at least there are birds and there’s always the hope of something new and unexpected. Thanks for stopping in! I mightily enjoy your blog so it was exciting to see you stop in here!

Leave a Reply

