Publishing Progress!

I’ve made progress!

As mentioned in my bio, I’m  a graduate student within the Biology Department at Montclair State University.  I’ve been working under Dr. Smallwood for four seasons.  Dr. Smallwood’s, and subsequently my research, has focused on the American Kestrel. Monitoring breeding populations in New Jersey has lead to the Kestrel’s recent reclassification as a Threatened Species.

On Monday, I submitted my data.  This afternoon we met to discuss next steps.   I’m headed back into the data to look more closely at what my results do and don’t suggest, which shouldn’t take too long…. (yeah…).

Then it’s write the first draft of my paper and present findings into my newly forming “thesis” committee.   I say “thesis” because I’m not doing a traditional thesis where the committee is established prior to data collection and there’s a long-winded paper that will eventually gather dust in the university library system.  Instead, I’ll be writing a paper intended for publication.

Goal is to present in March or April.  Write/edit manuscript during the summer. Not to mention work and taking four classes this semester.  Totally manageable.

Weighing American Kestrel nestlings. 2010. Photo by Barb Gilbert.

Weighing American Kestrel nestlings. 2010. Photo by Barb Gilbert.

Banding and Tagging adult American Kestrels. 2010. Photo by Barb Gilbert.

Banding and tagging adult American Kestrels. 2010. Photo by Barb Gilbert.

2 thoughts on “Publishing Progress!

  1. Kathleen, how wonderful to be studying kestrels! I see them quite often out here in AZ, and I use to see them all the time when I lived in Utah, but I rarely saw them when I was living in Massachusetts. I am sorry to hear they are threatened in NJ. Keep up the good work and I hope your paper goes well!

    • Unfortunately Kestrel numbers are taking a dive across the country. The decline was first noted in the east several years ago (nearly 2 decades I believe!), they began to decline in the west most recently and are beginning to show a decline, albeit not a statistically significant one) in the mid-west.

Leave a Reply

