The Gang’s All Here!

Birding on Christmas Day.

I didn’t have a chance to post yesterday — too busy doing some major household rearrangements, but I did have a bit of a chance to bird.  Also updated a few of the pages on the blog to provide more content: the life list is now up.  I am currently at 154 life species and 60 species for 2013. Woo!

On weekends I spend with my parents, I enjoy watching their feeder.   I love having the feeder here.  It was a Christmas present for my father that the whole family enjoys.

An old  pair of binoculars and two bird guides, DK’s What’s that Bird?: a beginner’s guide and National Geographic’s Field Guide to the Birds of North America (5th edition) now live on the table along with the most recent copy of the New York Times.

We have a delightful mixed flock that visits daily, near as I can tell.  I’m in and out a few times a week, but whenever I’m here, if I spend long enough at the window or check frequently enough I can count on seeing Tufted Titmice, House Sparrows (ugh!), Cardinals, White-breasted Nuthatches and one Song Sparrow.   Other very frequent visitors include the Black-capped Chickadee, Dark-eyed Juncos, American Goldfinch, and Red-bellied Woodpecker.  Once or twice we’ve had a White-throated Sparrow, Carolina Wren, Blue Jays, Mourning Doves, and a Northern Mockingbird visit the yard, if not the feeder.

Spotting the Red-tailed Hawk.

Yesterday’s Feeder List:
4 Blue Jay
12 House Sparrows
20 European Starlings
1 Northern Mockingbird
1 American Goldfinch
2 Northern Cardinals
1 White-breasted Nuthatch
1 Song Sparrow
1 Carolina Wren
1 Red-bellied Woodpecker
1 Tufted Titmouse
2 Dark-eyed Juncos

Today’s Feeder List:
4 Tufted Titmouse
1 Red-bellied Woodpecker
8 House Sparrows
1 Song Sparrow
1 Northern Cardinal
3 American Goldfinch
2 Black-capped Chickadee
1 White-breasted Nuthatch
1 Mourning Dove

Leave a Reply

